The Rae St Institute > Blog archive > The Zero Dollars (yet) Movement
Sadly, though, most apparently non-commercial billboard/poster "art" is both dull and trying to sell us something.. so when I saw these going up, alarm bells immediately began ringing:
Advertising is always about a constant cycle of appropriation.. ripping off ideas, trying to stay "cutting edge" by pretending to be such; pretending to be a "movement" when you're actually something else. Let's look closely at the last photo.
ZERO SUGAR... right. A "movement" that wants zero sugar. Is it just me, or has someone in the agency fucked up and put the "Stage 2" posters up ahead of time?
If you go to the site advertised there, you find - HEY PRESTO AND OH SO FUCKING EDGY - a blog.
Wednesday, January 4, 2006
Why can't chick flicks be: guy meets girl, guy gets girl, guy watches footy, girl gets snacks?
What is it with chick flicks? And what is with girls who want to drag me along to see them? And then all that - awwwwww that's so romantic, glancing over at me as if to say "you taking notes?" I say why can't chick flicks start giving women realistic expectations? The plot can start out traditionally enough - guy meets girl, guy gets girl, but then things would take an exciting and unexpected twist - guy watches footy and girl gets snacks. Nice, huh? Trust me we would all be better off.
erm... right.What is it with chick flicks? And what is with girls who want to drag me along to see them? And then all that - awwwwww that's so romantic, glancing over at me as if to say "you taking notes?" I say why can't chick flicks start giving women realistic expectations? The plot can start out traditionally enough - guy meets girl, guy gets girl, but then things would take an exciting and unexpected twist - guy watches footy and girl gets snacks. Nice, huh? Trust me we would all be better off.
Moving right along, the blog is full of vapid shit that pretends to be observational comedy but you can't help but get the feeling it's hiding a badge underneath that flannel shirt.
Well, it is.
The site is owned by the Coca Cola company.1
I also seriously suspect it's a corporate CMS hiding underneath that blog facade, because the URLs look utterly wrong for blog software, and I haven't tried posting a comment, but I suspect they're HEAVILY moderated (or just completely made up) -- any blog nerds out there who'd like to confirm or disprove this please do so; I'm avoiding doing in depth web stuff for a few weeks. :)
What's more, as well as PRETENDING to be a blog, PRETENDING to be a movement, and PRETENDING to be "about" something, they have the fucking audacity to tacitly encourage people to "spread the word" by putting up badly-shot photos of their posters (as usual for pricey corporate promotions pasted five hundred at a time over the top of anything local or real) and their fucking stencils!
http://www.thezeromovement.com/default,166,spread_the_word.sm
Perhaps it goes to prove there are no "real" movements anymore. Perhaps it's making a statement about the often vapid and pointless manifestos of various vague movements of disaffected affluent people... but either way, it's another costumed incursion of the corporate world into the turned-off sphere; pretending to be something it's not, pretending to be "street" and non-commercial when it's just, like everything else, trying to sell us another fucking product. Interestingly for all its fake edginess, it's not even a first.. by a margin of years. Nike did the same thing in 2001.
Fake movement, anyone?
Though this one didn't have a blog...
instead they put up billboards, then pasted fake jams across them a week or so later..
The final proof and roundup of what it actually is is found here: http://www.ricetek.net/?p=145
Today I received a big black package in the mail, and opening it I found a carton of a new product by Coca-Cola Amatil, "Coke Zero." Twenty-four 390ml bottles, just for me. Ooh, and I got one of those weird rubber wristband things that says "the zero movement".
Hmm.. So it's another "zero sugar" thing.. thus presumably exposing Another Market Segment to the wonders of Aspartame, and putting paid to all the bullshit marketing junk that the "blog" comprises.Why can't I drink something without increasing my risk of Brain Tumour?
Why can't I drink something without increasing my risk of Lymphoma?
Why can't a drink just be a drink and not contain a genotoxic compound that's there to make me think I'm ingesting already questionable refined sugar?
Why indeed.
Welcome to the 21st Century. Leave all thinking at the door and just wander round in a fucking daze like the agency responsible for this campaign expects you to.
As for me, I'll be the dude in the corner drinking beer. And maybe I'll put some Raw Sugar in it just to spite the fuckers; it'll probably taste shithouse, but I don't care.
1 - For the geekage behind my claim, expand this:
[root@media1 ~]# whois thezeromovement.com
[Querying whois.internic.net]
[Redirected to whois.opensrs.net]
[Querying whois.opensrs.net]
[whois.opensrs.net]
Registrant:
The Coca-Cola Company
One Coca-Cola Plaza
Atlanta, GA 30313
US
Domain name: THEZEROMOVEMENT.COM
Administrative Contact:
Administrator, Domain domainadmin@na.ko.com
One Coca-Cola Plaza
Atlanta, GA 30313
US
+1.4046768774 Fax: +1.4045988774
Technical Contact:
Tech, DBMS dbms-support@verisign.com
487 E. Middlefield Rd.
Mailstop M V 3-1-2
Mountain View, CA 94043
US
+1.8005792848 Fax: +1.6506182574
Registration Service Provider:
DBMS VeriSign, dbms-support@verisign.com
800-579-2848 x4
Please contact DBMS VeriSign for domain updates, DNS/Nameserver
changes, and general domain support questions.
Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 21-Nov-2005.
Record expires on 21-Nov-2007.
Record created on 21-Nov-2005.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS3.KO.COM 205.160.52.52
NS4.KO.COM 205.160.52.53
[root@media1 ~]# whois thezeromovement.com
[Querying whois.internic.net]
[Redirected to whois.opensrs.net]
[Querying whois.opensrs.net]
[whois.opensrs.net]
Registrant:
The Coca-Cola Company
One Coca-Cola Plaza
Atlanta, GA 30313
US
Domain name: THEZEROMOVEMENT.COM
Administrative Contact:
Administrator, Domain domainadmin@na.ko.com
One Coca-Cola Plaza
Atlanta, GA 30313
US
+1.4046768774 Fax: +1.4045988774
Technical Contact:
Tech, DBMS dbms-support@verisign.com
487 E. Middlefield Rd.
Mailstop M V 3-1-2
Mountain View, CA 94043
US
+1.8005792848 Fax: +1.6506182574
Registration Service Provider:
DBMS VeriSign, dbms-support@verisign.com
800-579-2848 x4
Please contact DBMS VeriSign for domain updates, DNS/Nameserver
changes, and general domain support questions.
Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 21-Nov-2005.
Record expires on 21-Nov-2007.
Record created on 21-Nov-2005.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS3.KO.COM 205.160.52.52
NS4.KO.COM 205.160.52.53



